A Spring Awakening

My name is Johanna, I work in Grand Teton National Park at the Grand Teton Lodge Company and I have a unique situation at the Jackson Lake Lodge; I am the only employee to commute from Jackson to Moran every day. Some people think this is crazy, and sometimes I do too with blizzard conditions in the winter and animal jams in the summer. Though for the most part, my commute is spectacular.

Moonset over the Tetons one early winter morning.

Moonset over the Tetons one early winter morning.

A storm rolls in over the Tetons as I commute home after work.

A storm rolls in over the Tetons as I commute home after work.

Door to door, with no snow or buffalo jams, it takes 45 min. My commute never takes 45 min. This is because of the reasons I just mentioned, plus I love to take pictures. Between the mountains, sunrises, sunsets, and endless amount of wildlife, I always have my iPhone ready.

Its spring time here in the Grand Teton National park, which means my down coat is replaced with a lighter one, my warm winter hat is traded for a trucker hat, and my Sorel boots are swapped for rain boots. But what is most enjoyable is that the animals have become energetic.

I wanted to share my adventure of a commute with everyone because in the last week I have seen more wildlife than ever before. Elk, buffalo, bears, antelope, moose, and mule deer have walked right past my car and I have been lucky enough to capture it. Here are my pictures from this week, and its only Tuesday.

A moose grazing in the field one morning.

A moose grazing in the field one morning.

A buffalo in the road, a common occurance.

A buffalo in the road, a common occurance.

A grizzly and her two cubs strolled right past my car on my way home from work.

A grizzly and her two cubs strolled right past my car on my way home from work.

An elk clearly stating that this land is his.

An elk clearly stating that this land is his.

As a girl who used to commute up to two hours in traffic in D.C., I’d take this drive any day.

3 comments

  1. Johanna, you are so lucky! What a great job and the commute is sometimes even better! I look forward to seeing what you see every day, when we visit in September. Maryland does not have scenery like this!

  2. What a great drive to have everyday, to see the beauty in the Tetons. The pictures were great! Sandy P, Norton, Ks


Leave a Reply

