July Wedding Spotlight: Allison & Terry

Allison & Terry
Allison & Terry

 

With the big day approaching, our July couple is gearing up to tie the knot. “I’m really excited, but now I think I’m getting to anticipation overload!  I kind of just want to stop talking about everything and just do it!” said bride Allison.

Allison and Terry have been planning for the last year and approximately 80 guests are making the trip to Grand Teton National Park to celebrate on July 12. “I’m also a little nervous that I’m going to forget something major before the big day…we keep checking our to-do list but it seems to grow every time!”

In less than 48 hours Allison and Terry will be in Jackson, Wyoming. Terry is focusing on how much there is to do before arriving. “Fortunately I’m able to take time off of work to assist with all of the prep and planning.”

The couple selected Jackson Lake Lodge as their wedding destination for the view, the location, and the amenities. “Terry and I both love the outdoors and I loved the idea of getting married with mountains in the backdrop.  I’m so excited that it is going to become a reality.  I visited Grand Teton National Park with my family when I was a child and it seems fitting that while this is a destination wedding, there is some tie to the location,” declared Allison.

“The sheer beauty of the Tetons is a big one…the mountains, the vistas, the roaming bison…” said Terry. The easy accessibility of the location by air was another deciding factor. “JAC, SLC and DEN airports provide ample air service.  Since we have guests attending from four time zones (Hawaii, Pacific, Mountain, Central & Eastern) it was important to pick a location that’s somewhat central and highly accessible.” 

Romance began when the couple met online. However, the two worked out at the same gym, would go to the same bars, and even had friends of friends in common.  “We also only lived about half a mile apart. Small world,” said Allison.

Allison knew the proposal was coming, as the two went ring shopping together. On Allison’s birthday weekend the couple planned to travel to a small town outside St. Louis for a mini vacation. “As we’re packing for the trip, I suggest we go out to lunch.  I surprised her and take her to the site of our first date—a coffee shop,” said Terry. “So we order some drinks and try to walk around, but it’s raining.  Picture me holding a drink with one hand and a big two-person umbrella in the other.  We walk around for a little while, I ask her to hold my drink, I reach in my pocket, present the ring and pop the question.”

Allison and Terry have joined together in much of the wedding planning. “I would say I’m fairly involved, although I’m not Groomzilla,” laughed Terry.  “She has very specific ideas for the wedding—the type of cake, the flowers, the table cards, etc.  I try to pry this information out of her and then drive her crazy by asking the detail questions: ‘Cocktail hour is at five, dinner starts at seven, will the first dance be as soon as people walk inside or after the entree is served?’  Conversely, I will spend 10 minutes looking at typefaces for the wedding stationary and she’ll be like, whatever you want is fine.” 
 
The couple is trying to incorporate the location and their quirky sensibilities into everything. 

“Some of the little touches are our first dance to a Mr. Rogers, (yes, from Mr. Rogers neighborhood) song and the groom’s cake, a replica of the Golden Gate Bridge (in honor of Terry being from San Francisco Bay area).  We also decided not to use the traditional wedding march in favor of an Elvis Costello song,” shared Allison.

They adopted an image of a mountain range as their wedding logo. “The color is a forest green and it’s used throughout—flowers, dresses, stationary, and more,” said Terry.

“The flowers are going to be elegant and simple, orchids, and peonies for the bouquets and orchids, peonies, and calla lilies for the centerpieces,” said Allison. The bride’s dress is an ivory sheath with a chapel length train and crystal beaded detailing. The music is being provided by a Bozeman, Montana old time string band, Jawbone Railroad

“We’re taking advantage of the best of Jackson Hole for our wedding guests—the ceremony and reception at Jackson Lake Lodge, the rehearsal dinner at the National Museum of Wildlife Art, local food and beverages, welcome gifts from local vendors, and more,” said Terry.

Terry admits what he is most excited for, “Allison is really close to her dad, so I know that him walking her down the aisle will be very special to her.  I’m really going to treasure watching that as I see my bride for the first time that day.”

Margaret, the mother of the bride, is looking forward to the whole week culminating to the wedding.  “A large contingent from both families will be attending so the time visiting in such a beautiful location will be great, maybe even time to take Allison’s nieces for a hike or two.”

“My first impression of Terry was months before meeting him and made me think he was very thoughtful and caring,” said Margaret. “Nothing is more important to a mother than having her daughter in a relationship with a man who loves her.” Margaret wishes the couple, “Health and happiness – everything else will follow.”

 

Our Spotlighted July Couple
Our Spotlighted July Couple

 

As the wedding draws closer, the couple learns to deal with unexpected obstacles.

“I think the thing that surprised me the most was how big, little things seemed when it got down to the wire,” said Allison. “When the chocolatier no longer carried my favorite truffle I was upset before I realized there were a half dozen others that I really liked as well.  I think the pressure of making lots of decisions daily and having minor issues rise up all the time was more stressful than I expected.”

Allison recommends staying in good contact with vendors. “I also think that it is really helpful to be organized.  I can’t believe how many excel spreadsheets we have dedicated to this wedding, thank goodness Terry is computer savvy!  I also think that it is important to plan to have some down time just the two of you.  Terry and I are so excited to see our family, but we know that we want to spend some time together and have set aside a night for a special date just the two of us when we get to Jackson.  I know that will be a special time for us.”

“I’m really just looking forward to getting married and enjoying the party that Terry and I have organized for our family and friends. I think that there are going to be lots of little moments: seeing the flower girls twirl in their dresses, having my father give me away, toasts from our friends, dancing the night away, an amazing meal…I just want to be able to take it all in and enjoy it.”

Terry adds, “We’ve laughed together, cried together—I realized that we make a great couple.  Our strengths complement each others weaknesses so wonderfully.  She’s an amazing, beautiful, smart woman, and I am so excited to spend the rest of my life with her.”

Leave a comment